The Society for In Vitro Biology established the Young Scientist Award in 2009 to recognize outstanding early-career scientists who have made significant contributions to the field of in vitro biology and/or in the development of novel technologies that have advanced in vitro biology. 

Dr. Yiping Qi

2020 SIVB Young Scientist Award Recipient

Dr. Yiping Qi

Dr. Yiping Qi was the recipient of SIVB’s 2020 Young Scientist Award. Dr. Qi started his research as a postdoc with Dr. Dan Voytas (a plant genome editing pioneer) at the University of Minnesota. During this time, he developed ZFN and TALEN technologies for plant genome editing.  Currently, he is an Assistant Professor at the University of Maryland, College Park. As an independent PI, he has been involved in the development of CRISPR-Cas9 and CRISPR-Cas12a systems. His vector systems have been widely distributed to laboratories around the world making a significant contribution to genome editing in plants. 

In the past few years, Dr. Qi has become a leader in developing synthetic transcriptional activators and repressors in plants. Most CRISPR based transcriptional regulation tools available to the plant research community were developed by his lab. In recent years, his lab reported a Cas12a-based transcriptional repression system, and Cas9 and TALE based transcriptional activation systems. These synthetic biology tools will enable the plant research community to tackle pressing problems such as engineering better crops able to cope well with climate change through rewiring the expression landscape of a plant genome. 

Dr. Qi has published a total of 43 peer-reviewed manuscripts and many of his publications are well-cited. In addition, he was the editor of a recent Methods in Molecular Biology book entitled “Plant Genome Editing with CRISPR Systems”, which is a collection of state-of-the-art protocols in plant genome editing. 

Not surprisingly, Dr. Qi is recognized worldwide as one of the leading scientists in plant genome engineering. We congratulate Dr. Qi on receiving this well-deserved Young Scientist Award! 

Submitted by:
Joyce Van Eck, Ph.D. 
Associate Professor 
Boyce Thompson Institute  

Share this page