The highest honor given by the Society for In Vitro Biology is the Lifetime Achievement Award. It is presented to scientists who are considered pioneers or highly influential researchers to the science and art of cell culture. They are men and women who have devoted their careers to exemplary research and/or teaching. The recipients of the Lifetime Achievement Award are selected by vote of the Board of Directors from a list of nominations recommended by the Awards Committee. The Society for In Vitro Biology honored Dr. Sandra Schneider and Dr. John Finer with SIVB Lifetime Achievement Awards at the 2018 In Vitro Biology Meeting in Saint Louis, MO. This issue highlights Dr. Sandra Schneider’s career. Dr. John Finer’s career was highlighted in the last issue of the In Vitro Report.

Dr. Sandra L. Schneider

2018 Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient

Dr. Sandra L. Schneider, CEO, Research & Clinical Laboratory Systems, was recipient of the Society for In Vitro Biology 2018 Distinguished Lifetime Achievement Award.

The in vitro biology career of Dr. Schneider has included pioneering the development of drug and radiation-resistant human neuroectodermal and breast cancer cell lines and hybridomas used as a standard for testing surgical tumors prior to patient therapy.  This early work led to her recognition and expertise in clinical research trials design and methodology, contributing to advancement and translation of medical research and military healthcare program development.  Much of this work involved the creation of proprietary new programs, methods of clinical practice standardization and technology transfer. Her research and scientific accomplishments include, but are not limited to:

  • Isolation and characterization of MDA-231R, an adriamycin-resistant human breast tumor cell line, and corresponding monoclonal antibodies used in a standardized panel to study and image drug resistant breast cancer.
  • Characterization of molecular marker expression and cellular pharmacokinetics in a normal human peripheral blood B-cell line to study the immunological effects of hyperthermia and ionizing radiation, including low dose radiation exposure.
  • Identification of tumor markers and molecular biology of the human medulloblastoma cell line TE6741 demonstrating that dibutyrl cylic adenosine monophosphate (dbcAMP) regulates growth and tumor differentiation.
  • Immunological, cytopathology and pathophysiology of bronchoalveolar cells exposed to cigarette smoking, sulfate/bisulfate (SO2) and nitrous oxide (NO2) exposures in a baboon model.
  • Bioengineered human lung organoid model as a next generation prototype platform for respiratory viral vaccine production system.

Dr. Schneider hold undergraduate BS degrees in Biology and Chemistry from the University of Southern Colorado, MPH and DrPH degrees from the University of Texas Health Science Center School of Public Health in Houston, TX, EMBA from the University of Texas in San Antonio and a Post-doctoral Fellow in bioinformatics and biostatics from the University of Texas Health Science Center, San Antonio, TX.  She is a licensed Medical Technologist, trained at the University of Colorado Medical School, Denver, CO and certified in immunohematology, Los Angeles Red Cross Blood Bank. Los Angeles, CA

Following an initial clinical career path as a Clinical Research Scientist at the prestigious Belle Bonfils Memorial Blood Bank and Knoxville Blood Center and Knoxville Blood Reagents, she transitioned into a scientific career in regenerative medicine and in vitro biology. Dr. Schneider has served in a number of positions to include: Research Scientist at the Southwest Foundation for Research and Education, San Antonio, TX, in the Departments of Immunology, Microbiology and Infectious Diseases and Environmental Sciences; Assistant Professor and Director of Clinical Research Programs at the University of Texas Health Science Center in San Antonio, TX. In these positions she developed and directed tissue culture-related clinical research in immunology, oncology, transplantation and toxicology. For the past 20 years Dr. Schneider has established and directed clinical and advanced medical translational research-related programs for the Department of Health & Human Services, Departments of Defense, pharmaceutical, public and private healthcare organizations.

Sandra Schneider receives the Lifetime Achievement Award at the 2018 In Vitro Biology Meeting: Left to right: Drs. Miho Furue, Sandra Schneider, J. Denry Sato, John Harbell, J Denry Sato, and Tetsuji Okamoto

Dr. Schneider is a member of numerous professional organizations and societies, and has received a number of awards including the Distinguished Service Award (1998) and the Fellow Award in Cellular Toxicology (2004) from the Society for In Vitro Biology.

An active, contributing and dedicated member of the TCA/SIVB since 1985, Dr. Schneider has promoted and contributed to the development and use of in vitro technologies and the education of students and young scientists.  She served on the Board of Directors, as President of the SIVB (2002-2004), and on numerous Society committees including: Chair Historical Records Committee; Chair/Co-Chair Laboratory Materials and Biosafety Committee; Development Committee; Program Committee; Chair Vertebrate Section, World Congress convenor and symposium presenter. As SIVB President and Board member, Dr. Schneider worked to strengthen ties with the Japanese Tissue Culture Society and the Japanese Association of Animal Cell Technologies.  She has been the Editor in Chief of In Vitro Reports, the Society’s newsletter, and is Associate Editor of the Journal In Vitro Cellular and Developmental Biology (Animal).

The Lifetime Achievement Award recognized Dr Schneider’s academic excellence and significant scientific, professional and humanitarian contributions to the field of in vitro cellular and tissue engineering technologies and contributions to military healthcare.

The emeritus scientists that nominated and supported Dr Schneider’s Lifetime Achievement Award include: Drs. Tetsuji Okamoto, J Denry Sato, Gertrude Case Buehring, Miho Furue, Cynthia Goodman, John Masters, Yvonne Reid, Alda Vidrich, Barbara Doonan, Thomas Goodwin, and Gordana Vunjak-Novakovic.  The Nikon Corporation is recognized for their very generous support to fund this award.

Read Dr. Schneider’s Acceptance Speech

Submitted by
Dr. J. Denry Sato