The highest honor given by the Society for In Vitro Biology is the Lifetime Achievement Award. It is presented to Scientists who are considered pioneers or highly influential to the science and art of cell culture. They are men and women who have devoted their careers to exemplary research and /or teaching. The recipients of the Lifetime Achievement Award are selected by vote of the Board of Directors from a list of nominations recommended by the Awards Committee. The Society for In Vitro Biology honored Dr. David Barnes and Dr. Michael Kane with SIVB Lifetime Achievement Awards at the 2014 World Forum on Biology Meeting. This issue of the In Vitro Report highlights Dr. Michael Kane’s career. Dr. David Barnes’ career was highlighted in a previous issue of the In Vitro Report.    

Michael Kane with members of his lab congratulate him on winning the Lifetime Achievement Award

Michael Kane with members of his lab congratulating him on his Lifetime Achievement Award

Dr. Michael Kane was awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Society for In Vitro Biology at the Opening Ceremony of the 2014 World Forum on Biology Meeting in Savannah, Georgia.

Dr. Kane received his B.S. degree in Natural Resources (Aquatic Plant Biotechnology) and a M.S. degree in Botany (Aquatic Botany) from the University of Rhode Island. He then earned his Ph.D. degree in Biological Sciences from the University of Rhode Island with an emphasis in plant growth and development. After earning his Ph.D. he worked at the US Environmental Protection agency prior to accepting a post-doctoral position in the Environmental Horticulture Department at the University of Florida. At the completion of his post-doctoral position, he was offered a tenure track Assistant Professorship at the University of Florida, where he now serves as Assistant Chair and Professor in the Environmental Horticulture Department.

Dr. Kane has made significant research contributions in plant tissue culture in the area of native plant micropropagation, and he is considered one of the World’s experts and foremost leaders in aquatic plant micropropagation and orchid conservation.  Dr. Kane’s laboratory was responsible for pioneering the micropropagation techniques for the endangered dune plant, Uniola paniculata, otherwise known as sea oats. His use of in vitro ecology techniques to examine genotypic differences in the growth, development, and acclimatization of sea oats has served as a model that has been used in conservation efforts by other scientists. In more recent years, Dr. Kane’s laboratory have been at the forefront in the area of orchid conservation research. His orchid conservation research has been recognized globally by many orchid conservation societies, and in 2010 Dr. Kane received the U.S. Department of Interior Regional Director’s Conservation Award to acknowledge his outstanding contributions to orchid conservation. His research efforts have resulted in over 80 published peer-reviewed journal articles, 17 book chapters on the topic of plant tissue culture, and numerous abstracts and invited presentations.

David Songstad presents Michael Kane with the Lifetime Achievement Award

David Songstad presents Michael Kane with the Lifetime Achievement Award

Dr. Kane is a dedicated educator and research mentor. Since 1987 he has taught a Plant Micropropagation course at the University of Florida in which he introduces students to plant tissue culture. He also teaches a summer tissue culture workshop to science teachers from across the country, so that they can incorporate tissue culture exercises into their own classes. Through his plant tissue culture workshops he also reaches students at all levels of education from elementary school to graduate school. Dr. Kane’s outstanding teaching contributions have been formally recognized, as he is the recipient of the Teacher of the Year Award from the University, and he has also received the USDA Excellence in College and University Teaching in the Food and Agricultural Sciences Award. Dr. Kane has served as the major professor or on the committees of more than 60 graduate students. Dr. Kane’s former students speak highly about the mentorship they received, and have found success at commercial tissue culture laboratories, Universities, seed companies, and botanical gardens.

Dr. Kane has been a dedicated member and supporter of the Society for In Vitro Biology for more than 25 years. He has contributed to the annual SIVB meetings by serving as both a convener/co-convener and invited speaker. Dr. Kane had been a strong supporter of the Society’s Education Committee, and actively supports the mission of this committee to promote the professional development of student members. The Society for In Vitro Biology has recognized Dr. Kane’s service to the Society by awarding him the Distinguished Service Award in 2003, and recognized his outstanding contributions to research and teaching by awarding him the Fellow Award in 2009.

Submitted by Editorial Office

Share this page