The Fellow Award recognizes current members of the SIVB who have been active members for at least 10 years. A Fellow has made outstanding contributions in their area of specialization or discipline to include research, teaching, and administration in public, government, academic, or private industry activities. Winners of this year’s award are David Songstad, David Ellis, and Dwight Lynn. Information on additional award winners will be provided in future issues of the In Vitro Report..

Greg Phillips presents David Songstad with the Fellow Award at the 2005 In Vitro Biology Meeting.

David Songstad was recognized as a SIVB Fellow at the 2005 annual meeting in Baltimore. Requirements to receive this recognition include significant scientific accomplishment relative to the in vitro sciences and accomplished service to the SIVB that spans at least 10 years of continual membership. Dr. Greg Phillips shared two letters of support written on behalf of David’s nomination from the Plant Section as a SIVB Fellow. Comments from Charles Armstrong and Nancy Reichert were shared that highlighted David’s accomplishments in the area of corn transformation and his direct involvement in Monsanto’s Roundup Ready Corn and Yieldgard Rootworm Resistance products. Aside from specifics, David’s passion for science and for the SIVB was also mentioned and his enthusiasm and commitment are very noticeable. Over the years, David has worked for academia, government and industry including organizations such as the South Dakota State University, University of Tennessee, University of Illinois, Canada’s NRC Plant Biotechnology Institute, Vipont Pharmaceuticals, Pioneer Hi-Bred and Monsanto. He has published 40 journal articles or book chapters in his career and has two issued patents with several pending.