This year’s World Congress found SIVB back in San Diego, this time at the Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina.

The meeting was a terrific success thanks to the efforts of the Program Committee and Local Organizing Committee (LOC): Harold Trick (Program Chair), Hong Luo (PBS Program Chair), Michael Dame (IVACS Program Chair), Sadanand Dhekney (PBS Jr. Co-Chair), Vivian Dayeh (Education Chair), Jordan Brungardt (PBS Student Co-Chair), Matt Desrosiers (IVACS Student Co-Chair) and David Songstad (LOC Chair) with their respective committees. SIVB gratefully thanks Co-Sponsors, The Japanese Association of Animal Cell Technology and the Japanese Tissue Culture Association for their support of the program.

students-with-dr-william-e-moerner-img_0786-dwightThe Scientific program was created to provide topics of interest to all sections. There was also a hands-on education workshop on Plant Tissue Culture for local High School and Community College Teachers held on Saturday afternoon. This workshop was well attended and very well received.

Symposia, workshops, contributed paper sessions and posters are essential to the success of SIVB’s annual meeting and that was true this year as well. The Plant Biotechnology Section had twelve symposia, multiple contributed paper oral sessions (both competitive and non-competitive), poster discussion sessions and lots of poster presentations. The main4In Vitro Animal Cell Sciences Section had 7 symposia (two presented by the Congress Co-Sponsors), competitive and non-competitive contributed paper oral sessions, poster discussion sessions and posters presentations. The student section presented a symposium, networking luncheon and a non-competitive student oral presentation session.

The Society was excited to have Dr. William Moerner, 2014 Nobel Prize Recipient in Chemistry, provide the Robert H. Lawrence, Jr. Keynote Address titled “Seeing single molecules, from early spectroscopy in solids, to super-resolution microscopy, to 3D dynamics of biomolecules in cells.” Dr. Moerner’s keynote address was extremely informative and he posed for a picture with all the student attendees after presenting the Keynote address.

main3SIVB honored Yvonne Reid and Eugene Elmore as Lifetime Achievement Award Winners for their significant contributions to in vitro research and the Society for In Vitro Biology throughout their careers.

We also honored Guy Smagghe with the Distinguished Scientist Award and Joshua Gasiorowski with the Young Scientist Award as well as presenting this year’s Distinguished Service awards

But it wasn’t all work and no play. The receptions, Joint Social and Tuesday evening cruise on the San Diego Bay were all well attended. Colleagues all found time to explore the resorts and to catch up on old and new friendships. Great thanks are due to our sponsors, supporters, chairs, conveners, and speakers for providing the support and science that made the event a success and to the presenters, exhibitors, and attendees for their active participation in all that the event had to offer. To all of them we say thank you…and we hope to see you all next year in Raleigh!

Submitted by the Business Office