Month: September 2007

President’s Report

Dear SIVB Members, Our 2007 Annual Meeting is over and your Board of Directors (BOD) and Business Office (New Beginnings Management) are hard at work in planning the 2008, 2009 and 2010 meetings. The 2007 meeting was in my mind a major success. The turnout and donations were quite good and the sessions of the highest quality. I and your BOD want to thank all of those that attended as well as all of you that worked so hard to make the meeting both a success and enjoyable. A special thanks is extended to Marietta Ellis and her staff...

Read More

Highlights of the 2007 Meeting

The 2007 In Vitro Biology Meeting was held at the Westin Hotel in Indianapolis, Indiana from June 9-13. The meeting focused on a wide range of topics and issues of interest to both Plant Biotechnology and In Vitro Animal Cell Sciences Sections of the Society. A total of 342 scientists from 15 countries attended the scientific meeting and interacted with exhibitor representatives. This year SIVB again offered free registration to Students and 65 took advantage of this opportunity. Continuing the successful format first started in 2005 each day began by a Society wide plenary session highlighting cross-disciplinary subjects of...

Read More

SIVB Lifetime Achievement Award

The Society for In Vitro Biology presented the 2007 Lifetime Achievement Award jointly to Indra K. Vasil and Vimla Vasil. The Vasils’ have made significant contributions to the development of in vitro plant biology and biotechnology by the quantity and quality of their research and through professional service to this field. The nomination was led by Dr. Trevor Thorpe and colleagues Drs. Fredy Altpeter, Claudia Botti and Edgar DaSilva: Indra and Vimla Vasil obtained their Ph.D. degrees from the University of Delhi in 1958 and 1959, respectively. They were both on sabbaticals in the USA in the early 1960s....

Read More

SIVB Fellow Awards

The Fellow Award recognizes current members of the SIVB who have been active members for at least 10 years. A Fellow has made outstanding contributions in their area of specialization or discipline to include research, teaching, and administration in public, government, academic, or private industry activities. The Society for In Vitro Biology honored Barbara B. Doonan, Todd J. Jones, J. Denry Sato, and Guy Smagghe, with the SIVB Fellow Awards. Information on additional award winners will be provided in future issues of the In Vitro Report.   J. Denry Sato, D. Phil Dr. J. Denry Sato, D.Phil was nominated...

Read More

SIVB Service Recognition

SIVB Service Recognition/Keynote Symposium Named in Honor of Robert H. Lawrence, Jr. In recognition and gratitude for his exemplary service to the Society for In Vitro Biology for the last 35 years, Robert H. Lawrence was acknowledged and the keynote symposium named in honor of him. Nancy Reichert presented Bob with the award. Her introduction of Dr. Lawrence summarizes his outstanding career: “It is my distinct honor to introduce Bob Lawrence. Many of us have known and appreciated his involvement in the TCA/SIVB, and his tireless fund raising efforts that spanned decades. His love of plant tissue culture began...

Read More

The In Vitro Report accepts submissions from members or interested scientists. Submissions must include author’s name, address, phone, or other number where you can be reached. For additional information regarding submissions to In Vitro Report, contact Sylvia A. Mitchell or Michael J. Fay, Editors-in-Chief, by phone or email or contact the SIVB office.

Sylvia Mitchell

Michael Fay

In Vitro Report Archives

IVR Archives (legacy) IVR Archives

Upcoming Events

  1. Principles & Methods in Electrophysiology

    September 11 - September 13
  2. 2019 FAES Endocrinology Update Review at NIH

    September 23 - September 27
  3. Project Training Management for Scientists

    October 8 - October 9
  4. Flow Cytometry: Principles and Methods

    October 15 - October 18
  5. Engineering with CRISPR, TALENs & ZFNs

    November 4 - November 8