Month: September 2006

Welcome from the New Editors

Welcome to the July 2006 issue of the In Vitro Report. As new co-editors of the newsletter, we would like to introduce ourselves and invite you to submit “anything” of interest to the SIVB and its members for inclusion in future issues. Dr. Carol M. Stiff was involved in research and teaching in her previous life and now is President and CEO of her company, Kitchen Culture Kits, Inc. ( and can be reached by email at Dr. Michael J. Fay is an Associate Professor of Pharmacology at Midwestern University in Downers Grove, IL. He can be reached...

Read More

President’s Report

Thanks to the hard work of Past-President, David Altman, and his Board of Directors and Executive Committee, I inherit a Society which is no longer deficit spending and is slowly but surely becoming financially healthy. The 2006 Annual Meeting was both a financial and scientific success. Special thanks for such an excellent meeting to Mark Jordan and his Program Committee as well as to David Songstad and his Development Committee. Another major achievement during David’s tenure was the publishing agreement with Springer. Both of our journals are now under one umbrella and I expect to see improvements in circulation...

Read More

Highlights from the 2006 SIVB Meeting

The 2006 In Vitro Biology Meeting was held at the Minneapolis Hilton Hotel in Minneapolis, Minnesota from June 3-7. The meeting focused on a wide range of topics and issues of interest to both Plant Biotechnology and In Vitro Animal Cell Sciences Sections of the Society. A total of 331 scientists from 15 countries attended the scientific meeting and interacted with exhibitor representatives. This year SIVB again offered free registration to Students and 77 took advantage of this opportunity. Continuing the successful format first started in 2005 the meeting was kicked off each day by a Society wide plenary...

Read More

New Members

SIVB Welcomes Its New Members in 2006! Benjamin Bey, Tuskegee University Matthew Cousins, Clemson University Hortense Dodo, Alabama A&M University Eric Hardy, Ivy Tech Community College Zhong Huang, Arizona State University Eli Khayat, Rahan Meristem (1998) Ltd Muhammad Lodhi, Surmodics, Inc. Stephania Lukjan, Phyton Biotech James McKim, CeeTox, Inc. Todd Murphy, Ivy Tech Community College William Petersen, Rxoa Biosciences, LLC Venkatappa Reddy, University of Toledo Jessica Scoffield, Tuskegee University Shuib Siti Shuhada, Malaysian Rubber Board Esther Uchendu Nixy Zutshi, Roche...

Read More

Lifetime Achievement Award

The Lifetime Achievement Award was presented by the Society for In Vitro Biology (SIVB) to two scientists at the 2006 In Vitro Biology meeting in Minneapolis, Minnesota. The recipients of this prestigious award were Wei-Shou Hu, who was nominated by David Jayme, and Bob Conger who was nominated by David Songstad. Articles featuring each Lifetime Achievement Award winner will be presented in separate issues of the In Vitro Report. Wei-Shou Hu receives the 2006 Lifetime Achievement Award The Lifetime Achievement Award is a prestigious award presented by the SIVB to unique individuals who have contributed significantly to and developed...

Read More

The In Vitro Report accepts submissions from members or interested scientists. Submissions must include author’s name, address, phone, or other number where you can be reached. For additional information regarding submissions to In Vitro Report, contact Sylvia A. Mitchell or Michael J. Fay, Editors-in-Chief, by phone or email or contact the SIVB office.

Sylvia Mitchell

Michael Fay

In Vitro Report Archives

IVR Archives (legacy) IVR Archives

Upcoming Events

  1. Principles & Methods in Electrophysiology

    September 11 - September 13
  2. 2019 FAES Endocrinology Update Review at NIH

    September 23 - September 27
  3. Project Training Management for Scientists

    October 8 - October 9
  4. Flow Cytometry: Principles and Methods

    October 15 - October 18
  5. Engineering with CRISPR, TALENs & ZFNs

    November 4 - November 8