Month: December 2004

President’s Report

Our society faces a number of challenges in the years ahead, but in the first months of service as your President, I’m convinced even more about the vital role the SIVB plays in making a difference for our profession. If you’ve ever wandered around a large, impersonal meeting of other scientific organizations, then you understand the value of our meeting environment where: We welcome students with free meeting registration and a trial, first-year membership because education is cherished and SIVB is committed to disseminate information and traditions to the next generation of leaders; We foster personal contacts and the...

Read More

2004 Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient

Dr. Tom Grace and Professor Shangyin Gao received “Lifetime Achievement Award” The highest honor given by the Society for In Vitro Biology is the Lifetime Achievement Award. It is presented to scientists who are considered pioneers or highly influential researchers to the science and art of cell culture. They are men and women who have devoted their careers to exemplary research and/or teaching. The recipients of the Lifetime Achievement Award are selected by vote of the Board of Directors from a list of nominations received and recommendation by the Awards Chair. Eugene Elmore was the chairperson for 2004. The...

Read More

2004 Distinguished Service Award Recipients

The Distinguished Service Award is presented to those, selected by the SIVB President, who have demonstrated and given extra effort in support of the SIVB programs and endeavors. The following SIVB members were presented the Distinguished Service Award at the 2004 World Congress, held in San Francisco, California. Additional winners will be listed in future issues of the In Vitro Report. Barbara Doonan In September 2004, Barbara Doonan celebrated 25 years as a scientist in industry. Her current position is Lead Senior Scientist at UST Inc. in Greenwich CT. At UST since 1989, she has enjoyed the opportunity to...

Read More

2004 Student Awards

The following student awards were presented at the 2004 World Congress on In Vitro Biology, San Francisco, California. Information related to the available specific student awards can be found on the SIVB Website ( or by contacting the SIVB Business Office at (919) 420-7940,, or Dr. Pamela Weathers, Chair, Student Affairs & Awards, (508) 831-5196, 2004 WILTON R. EARLE AWARD and 2004 SIVB STUDENT TRAVEL AWARD Transgene Expression in Site-specific Integrant Rice Lines Site-specific gene integration method based on heterologous system such as cre-lox has the potential to stabilize transgene expression. The molecular strategy allows the production...

Read More


Dr. Henry Daniell, Pegasus Professor and Trustee Chair, Department of Molecular Biology and Microbiology, University of Central Florida, was elected a member of the Italian National Academy of Sciences at its 222nd annual inauguration in Rome in April 2004. Dr. Daniell’s election is the 15th for an American national in the history of this academy. Past members include Benjamin Franklin and Albert Einstein. Daniell was elected based on his pioneering innovations involving chloroplast genetic engineering that have resulted in many advances, patents, and commercial applications. Dr. Sylvia Mitchell, Professor M.H. Amad, and the Medicinal Plant Research Group at the...

Read More

The In Vitro Report accepts submissions from members or interested scientists. Submissions must include author’s name, address, phone, or other number where you can be reached. For additional information regarding submissions to In Vitro Report, contact Sylvia A. Mitchell or Michael J. Fay, Editors-in-Chief, by phone or email or contact the SIVB office.

Sylvia Mitchell

Michael Fay

In Vitro Report Archives

IVR Archives (legacy) IVR Archives